Sponsored by House Foreign Affairs Committee Chairman Rep. Mike McCaul (R-TX), H.R. 6727 would establish the United States Foundation for International Conservation to promote long-term management of protected and conserved areas.

Tuesday, December 13, 2023 in Washington, D.C. - On Monday, House Foreign Affairs Committee Chairman Mike McCaul (R-TX), introduced H.R. 6727, the United States Foundation for International Conservation Act of 2023. Original cosponsors of the bill include Ranking Member Gregory Meeks and International Conservation Caucus Co-Chairs Rep. Dave Joyce (R-OH), Betty McCollum (D-MN), and Henry Cuellar (D-TX). Senator Chris Coons (D-DE) and Senator Lindsey Graham (R-SC) had introduced the bill in the Senate in March 2023, along with Senators John Boozman (R-AR), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Thom Tillis (R-NC), and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI).

The bipartisan measure is to establish and authorize funds for a charitable nonprofit, independent of the United States government, to carry out activities to:

  • identify and support implementation-ready projects that would promote the long-term management of protected and conserved areas in developing countries;
  • increase private-sector investment in international conservation and collaborate with partners;
  • and coordinate with eligible foreign governments, local communities, Indigenous Peoples, and other stakeholders to ensure positive outcomes.

This new public-private partnership would aim to mobilize significant new funding from both public and private sources to help solidify the type of long-term funding and resources required for the effective management of protected and conserved areas while leveraging the strengths of both sectors.

A long list of CEOs and philanthropists have already committed to partnering with the USFIC, including:

  • Simon Chaplin, CEO, Arcadia Fund
  • Andrew Steer, President & CEO, Bezos Earth Fund
  • Wendy J. Paulson, Chairman, Bobolink Foundation
  • Laurene Powell Jobs, Founder and President, Emerson Collective
  • Harvey V. Fineberg, President, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
  • Molly Bartlett, Executive Director, International Conservation Fund of Canada
  • Peter Seligmann, CEO, Nia Tero
  • James Deutsch, CEO, Rainforest Trust
  • Wes Sechrest, CEO and Chair, Re:wild
  • Rob Walton, Founder, Rob Walton Foundation
  • Molly McUsic, President, The Wyss Foundation

Map Legend

Legislative Caucus supported by the ICCF Group

hqRegional Headquarters

The ICCF Model

Now supporting 20+ nonpartisan groups across the globe, the ICCF Group advances nonpartisan leadership in conservation by building political will among parliamentary leaders while supporting the management of protected areas through its International Conservation Corps programs.

Legislative outcomes, public-private partnerships, and land management resulting from our work demonstrate our model provides cost-effective and resilient solutions to the most pressing conservation challenges faced by governments today.

About Us
copyright © 2023 the iccf group
Where We Work
Get Involved